Def Leppard Box Set Volume One

Rock of Ages: Def Leppard review their career in four box sets

Def Leppard fans are in for a frugal few months as the band releases the first of four planned box sets on 1 June.

Available as a box of seven CDs or nine 180g vinyl records, Volume One sees the band through the 1980s, from their début album On Through The Night (in a replica of the rare Australian gatefold sleeve), through 1981’s High ‘n’ Dry and their 1983 US MTV breakthrough set Pyromania to the epic Hysteria which finally broke the band in the UK in 1987. Originally a single LP, Hysteria is now spread across four sides of vinyl for improved sound quality, although it’s worth noting that all four albums are presented as originally released with none of the bonus tracks added to later reissues.

Also included in the box are a disc containing ten B-sides and rarities compiled by frontman Joe Elliott, a live show from the LA Forum in 1983, and a replica of the band’s self-titled, self-financed début EP from 1979 on 7″ vinyl or 3″ CD. As well as the music, the box also includes a hardback book of rare photographs by Ross Halfin, sleeve notes by Paul Elliott of Classic Rock and Mojo, and personal introductions by band members Joe Elliott, Rick Savage, Rick Allen and Phil Collen.

Both sets are available to pre-order now, with prices in the range of £130 for The Vinyl Box Set Volume One and a rather less startling £60 for The CD Box Set Volume One.

Liked it? Take a second to support The Sound of the Crowd on Patreon!