U2

Into the arms of America (and Europe): U2 tour The Joshua Tree

U2 will celebrate the thirtieth anniversary of their quintessential album The Joshua Tree by playing it live, in full, as part of a tour of North America and Europe starting in May. The tour comes to the UK on 8 July 2017 with a show at Twickenham Stadium, London, followed by an Irish date at Dublin’s Croke Park on the 22nd.

Guitarist The Edge told u2.com: “It seems like we have come full circle from when The Joshua Tree songs were originally written, with global upheaval, extreme right wing politics and some fundamental human rights at risk. To celebrate the album – as these songs seem so relevant and prescient of these times too – we decided to do these shows, it feels right for now. We’re looking forward to it.”

Bono also reflected on the album. “Recently I listened back to The Joshua Tree for the first time in nearly 30 years. It’s quite an opera. I’ve sung some of these songs a lot, but never all of them. I’m up for it. If our audience is as excited as we are it’s gonna be a great night, especially when we play at home.”

Tickets for the European dates go on sale next Monday (16 January) with the North American dates following on Tuesday. Subscribers to u2.com will be eligible for a priority presale from this Wednesday (11 January).

The full list of dates is as follows:

  • Fri 12 May: BC Place Stadium, Vancouver, BC
  • Sun 14 May: CenturyLink Field, Seattle, WA
  • Wed 17 May: Levi’s Stadium, San Francisco, CA
  • Sat 20 May: Rose Bowl, Los Angeles, CA
  • Wed 24 May: NRG Stadium, Houston, TX
  • Fri 26 May: AT&T Stadium, Dallas, TX
  • Sat 3 Jun: Soldier Field, Chicago, IL
  • Wed 7 Jun: Heinz Field, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Sat 11 Jun: Hard Rock Stadium, Miami, FL
  • Wed 14 Jun: Raymond James Stadium, Tampa, FL
  • Sun 18 Jun: Lincoln Financial Field, Philadelphia, PA
  • Tue 20 Jun: FedEx Field, Washington, DC
  • Fri 23 Jun: Rogers Centre, Toronto, ON
  • Sun 25 Jun: Gillette Stadium, Boston, MA
  • Wed 28 Jun: MetLife Stadium, E. Rutherford, NJ
  • Sat 1 Jul: First Energy, Cleveland, OH
  • Sat 8 Jul: Twickenham Stadium, London, UK
  • Wed 12 Jul: Olympic Stadium, Berlin, Germany
  • Sat 15 Jul: Olympic Stadium, Rome, Italy
  • Tue 18 Jul: Olympic Stadium, Barcelona, Spain
  • Sat 22 Jul: Croke Park, Dublin, Ireland
  • Tue 25 Jul: Stade de France, Paris, France
  • Sat 29 Jul: Amsterdam Arena, Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Tue 1 Aug: King Baudouin Stadium, Brussels, Belgium