Genesis turn it on again for reunion tour

Phil Collins, Mike Rutherford and Tony Banks will reunite as Genesis for a 2020 tour, thirteen years after they last performed together and almost thirty years after their most recent album.

Their The Last Domino? tour, which will see the band play ten shows across the UK and Ireland in November and December 2020, will be their first since their fortieth anniversary Turn It On Again tour in 2007. Phil Collins’ son Nic will take his father’s place on drums, as Phil can no longer play due to health issues.

Formed in 1967, Genesis gained a significant following with prog rock albums such as Foxtrot (1972), Selling England By The Pound (1973) and The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway (1974) but had little singles success before original frontman Peter Gabriel quit for a solo career in 1975. With drummer Phil Collins installed on vocals, the band shifted in a more commercial direction and the trio of Collins, Rutherford and Banks enjoyed worldwide success between 1978 and 1992. The albums Duke (1980), Abacab (1981), Genesis (1983), Invisible Touch (1986) and We Can’t Dance (1991) all reached number one in the UK and spawned dozens of hit singles, before Collins left the band in 1996. Rutherford and Banks released one further album, the now largely forgotten Calling All Stations (1997) with former Stiltskin vocalist Ray Wilson.

The tour dates confirmed so far are:

  • Dublin 3 Arena (Monday 16 November)
  • Belfast SSE Arena (Thursday 19 November)
  • Liverpool M&S Bank Arena (Monday 23 November)
  • Newcastle Utilita Arena (Thursday 26 November)
  • London O2 Arena (Sunday 29 & Monday 30 November)
  • Leeds First Direct Arena (Wednesday 2 December)
  • Birmingham Utilita Arena (Saturday 5 December)
  • Manchester Arena (Tuesday 8 December)
  • Glasgow SSE Hydro (Friday 11 December)

Tickets for the UK dates go on sale at 9am on Friday 6 March; Dublin tickets are available from Monday 9 March.

Liked it? Take a second to support The Sound of the Crowd on Patreon!