Andy Bell as Torsten the Beautiful Libertine

Chart Watch and New Releases: 4 March 2016

Chart Watch

David Bowie‘s grip on the album chart is beginning to loosen, with only Best of Bowie still in the top ten at number 4, although Nothing Has Changed (#15) and (#17) are still in the top twenty and Hunky Dory (#26), The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders From Mars (#29) and Aladdin Sane (#49) are all climbing again. The collection of BBC Radio recordings Bowie at the Beeb re-enters at 74 and Back in Anger, a live set with Nine Inch Nails, enters at 89. Elsewhere Anthrax return to the chart at 21 with new album For All Kings and Magnum are back with Sacred Blood, “Divine” Lies at 31. Phil Collins‘ remastered Hello, I Must Be Going! débuts at 48 (and his 1996 set Dance Into the Light enters at #70) while the new edition of Michael Jackson‘s Off the Wall makes its début at 62.

New Releases

Erasure’s Andy Bell releases his new solo album Torsten the Beautiful Libertine today, featuring songs from his new stage musical of the same name including the new single My Precious One. Brenda Russell‘s 1983 album Two Eyes gets an expanded reissue, Everything But The Girl‘s 1988 set Idlewild is reissued on 180gm vinyl and if you’re looking for something a bit more exotic, you could try No Manchester by Mexrissey, an album of Morrissey songs performed Mexican-style. ¡Ay, caramba!

Liked it? Take a second to support The Sound of the Crowd on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.