No Plan EP

Chart Watch and New Releases: 28 April 2017

We may have been a bit cynical about Record Store Day last week but its effectiveness becomes obvious today as David Bowies No Plan EP, first released digitally back in January, finally makes the official singles chart at 92. It also returns to the top of a Physical Singles chart dominated by RSD releases, including The Smiths at #2 with the demo mix of The Boy With The Thorn In His Side, the 2017 mix of Red Hill Mining Town by U2 at #4, Madonna’s Into the Groove at #7 and a brand new The The single We Can’t Stop What’s Coming at #9. The Africa-shaped picture disc of Toto’s Africa débuts at 17, Art of Noise’s Moments in Love is at 20, and there are also physical singles chart entries for Def Leppard (Ride Into the Sun at 22), The Wedding Present (the Home Internationals EP at 30), Madness (the double A-side of Drip Fed Fred and Johnny the Horse at 37), Paul McCartney (his cassette of Flowers in the Dirt demos enters at 59) and The Fall (Masquerade at 85). There’s also a range of new entries for the RSD Prince 12″s, led by Little Red Corvette at 12, with Sign ‘O’ The Times at 32, Batdance at 48, Partyman (54), I Could Never Take The Place Of Your Man (56), Pop Life (68) and I Wish U Heaven (76). In regular physical singles news, Pet Shop Boys enter at #14 with Undertow.

Record Store Day also leaves its mark on the main albums chart, with Bowie’s Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles ’74) new at 20 and Bowpromo at 38, while The Cure’s Greatest Hits re-enters at 48 thanks to its RSD vinyl reissue. These are all trumped by Texas, though, whose new album Jump On Board débuts at #6.

If you haven’t spent your entire life savings on Record Store Day exclusives, Depeche Mode release a double 12″ set of Where’s the Revolution remixes today, and there are deluxe editions of Divine’s début album Jungle Jezebel (review coming soon) and his producer Bobby “O”‘s own début Freedom in an Unfree World (read our review here). There are remastered editions of three Jon & Vangelis albums: Short Stories, The Friends of Mister Cairo and Private Collection, as well as solo Vangelis sets Earth, L’Apocalypse des Animaux, Opéra Sauvage, China, Antarctica and Mask.

Liked it? Take a second to support The Sound of the Crowd on Patreon!