Depeche Mode - Spirit

45 revolutions per minute: Depeche Mode announce new single and album

Depeche Mode have unveiled a new single Where’s The Revolution, ahead of the release of their fourteenth studio album Spirit on 17 March.

The album, their first since 2013, deals with the band members’ dissatisfaction with the current state of the world – “Who’s making your decisions? You or your religion?” asks Dave Gahan on the lead single. “If we want things to change, a revolution, we need to talk about it and about caring about what goes on in the world,” Gahan told Rolling Stone. “We called the album Spirit because it’s like, ‘Where’s the spirit gone?’ or ‘Where’s the spirit in humanity?'”

Produced by James Ford of Simian Mobile Disco, the album is now available to pre-order on CD, double CD (with exclusive artwork, photos and remixes), double vinyl (with etched artwork on side four) and download. The full track listing is:

  • Going Backwards
  • Where’s The Revolution
  • The Worst Crime
  • Scum
  • You Move
  • Cover Me
  • Eternal
  • Poison Heart
  • So Much Love
  • Poorman
  • No More (This Is The Last Time)
  • Fail

The deluxe edition Jungle Spirit Mixes CD also includes:

  • Cover Me (Alt Out)
  • Scum (Frenetic Mix)
  • Poison Heart (Tripped Mix)
  • Fail (Cinematic Cut)
  • So Much Love (Machine Mix)

Depeche Mode head out on their Global Spirit Tour in May with 32 dates across 21 European countries, including the London Stadium on 3 June. Further legs of the tour will see the band play across North and South America.

Liked it? Take a second to support The Sound of the Crowd on Patreon!